New Mexico 23, UTSA 20

New Mexico head coach Bob Davie earned his first career bowl victory when the Lobos, boosted by a pair of short touchdown runs from Richard McQuarley, beat UTSA, 23-20. Despite the hype around New Mexico’s triple-option threat and the Lobos leading the nation in rushing, the Roadrunners ran for more yards than the Lobos. Jarveon Williams ran for 125 yards for the Roadrunners, who lost in their first bowl appearance in the program’s six-year history. UNM quarterback Lamar Jordan was voted as the Most Outstanding Offensive Player by the media, leading the team in rushing (81 yards on 13 carries) and passing (3-4-0 for 77 yards). Linebacker Dakota Cox was named the Defensive MVP, tallying 10 tackles (6 solo), 1.5 tackles for loss (4 yards), and one breakup.

Arizona 45, New Mexico 37

It looked like another wild, come-back victory was going into the Gildan New Mexico Bowl record book. The New Mexico Lobos were working on a potential game-winning drive after trailing by 18 when the Arizona Wildcats thwarted it with an interception to secure the 45-37 win. The Wildcats’ Anu Solomon took home the Offensive MVP award, throwing two touchdowns and rushing for another. He and the UofA offense needed just 19:38 minutes of possession to win their second bowl game in Albuquerque. Scooby Wright, III garnered the Defensive MVP honors with a game-high 15 tackles, including 11 solo, and 2 sacks.

Utah State 21, UTEP 6

It wasn’t a last-second victory like previous years but Utah State still churned out an improbable tale as the Aggies garnered a 21-6 win against UTEP, at times with its fifth-string quarterback leading the offense. The Vigil brothers were the other key component in USU’s third straight bowl victory. Zach Vigil was named the Defensive MVP with game-high 11 tackles while younger brother, Nick, notched seven tackles and a touchdown. The Aggies had one of the top-ranked defenses in the nation. The Vigils, who combined for 553 career tackles to rank first at the FBS level among active brothers, helped hold UTEP to 149 rushing yards and no touchdowns.