Arizona 45, New Mexico 37

It looked like another wild, come-back victory was going into the Gildan New Mexico Bowl record book. The New Mexico Lobos were working on a potential game-winning drive after trailing by 18 when the Arizona Wildcats thwarted it with an interception to secure the 45-37 win. The Wildcats’ Anu Solomon took home the Offensive MVP award, throwing two touchdowns and rushing for another. He and the UofA offense needed just 19:38 minutes of possession to win their second bowl game in Albuquerque. Scooby Wright, III garnered the Defensive MVP honors with a game-high 15 tackles, including 11 solo, and 2 sacks.

Utah State 21, UTEP 6

It wasn’t a last-second victory like previous years but Utah State still churned out an improbable tale as the Aggies garnered a 21-6 win against UTEP, at times with its fifth-string quarterback leading the offense. The Vigil brothers were the other key component in USU’s third straight bowl victory. Zach Vigil was named the Defensive MVP with game-high 11 tackles while younger brother, Nick, notched seven tackles and a touchdown. The Aggies had one of the top-ranked defenses in the nation. The Vigils, who combined for 553 career tackles to rank first at the FBS level among active brothers, helped hold UTEP to 149 rushing yards and no touchdowns.

Colorado State 48, Washington State 45

For the second straight year, the winning team has scored at least 10 points in the final minute to win the Gildan New Mexico Bowl. Colorado State trailed by 22 points (35-13) before coming back to beat Washington State 48-45 in the bowl season’s opening game. That’s tied for the 2nd-largest deficit overcome to win in a non-OT bowl game. The Rams got back in the game when Cougars running back Jeremiah Laufasa fumbled at the Cougars 33, setting up Kapri Bibbs’ 1-yard run score and Donnell Alexander’s two-point conversion run that tied it at 45 with 33 seconds left. Then, Washington State’s Teondray Caldwell fumbled a kickoff return at the 24, setting up Jared Roberts’ 41-yard field goal as time expired. The teams combined for 58 points in the 1st half, which is a Gildan New Mexico Bowl record. It is tied for the 9th-most combined points in a half in bowl history (since 1937).