Colorado State 40, Fresno State 35

Colorado State defensive end Tommie Hill intercepted Fresno State quarterback Tom Brandstater with 13:26 remaining in the fourth quarter to jump-start the Rams’ rally that led to 20 points in the final period and the Rams’ first bowl win since 2003. Gartrell Johnson, III recorded 375 yards from scrimmage (rushing & receiving only) on 32 touches to set a new mark for the most yards in FBS bowl history.

New Mexico 23, Nevada 0

The second New Mexico Bowl was just as chilly as the first with kick-off temperature of 34 degrees but there was no snow for the 30,223 in attendance. The game ended up in favor of the Lobos as Paul Baker ran for 167 yards in his first start, and Donovan Porterie threw for a career-high 354 yards and two touchdowns to help New Mexico beat Nevada 23-0. The Lobos (9-4) ended a 46-year span without a postseason victory and gave head coach Rocky Long his first bowl win in five tries. John Sullivan made field goals from 53, 39 and 37 yards, but credit was also given to New Mexico’s defense, which delivered just the second shutout loss for Nevada under Hall of Fame coach Chris Ault. The Wolf Pack (6-7) hadn’t gone scoreless since losing 10-0 to Weber State on Sept. 27, 1980, a span of 329 games — the longest streak in college football at that time and the second longest in history. It was the first time Nevada was shut out since moving to Division I-A in 1992.

San Jose State 20, New Mexico 12

Just days prior to the first collegiate bowl game at University Stadium since 1980, the city of Albuquerque was dumped on with six or more inches of snow, forcing the game and practice fields to be plowed off so the Bowl could go on as scheduled. The game did go on as planned and an announced crowd of 34,111 watched as the San Jose State Spartans defeated the New Mexico Lobos, 20-12. For SJSU (9-4), the win provided a final highlight in a season in which it won more games than it had in the three previous seasons. For UNM (6-7), it dropped them to 0-5 in bowl games since 1997, and extended the Lobos’ postseason losing streak to the sixth longest in the nation, having not won a bowl game since they beat Western Michigan in the 1961 Aviation Bowl.